The story

You will find our barn quilt on the East end of our 121 year old bank barn. Built in 1896 by Robert Brock, the barn changed ownership from the Richardson family to the Hendriks in 1982. The barn is still occupied as an extension of Hendriks Dairies Ltd. Our barn now houses dairy heifers and miniature donkeys, as well as several cats. We chose the compass point design for our barn quilt because through Patti’s business, “Primitive Creek” in Seaforth, and our own personal lives, we are always stretching to new horizons. Our barn is one of the last few remaining bank barns on Mill Road in Huron East. Our quilt is a tribute to the farmers who came before us. In erecting it, we are celebrating their efforts and allowing others to appreciate our barn’s unique gambrel (hip-style) roof design.

Name of sponsor of Barn Quilt : Patti & Henry Hendriks

Location

Mill Road Compass

41401 Mill Road, Brucefield, ON

Latitude : 43.5301 Longitude : -81.47688

See the barns on google maps